Shopping Analysis

by clouserj

Hello All,

We will be meeting at 18:00 Thursday in front of Saks – inside –  Planta Baja – cerca a los coches blindados.

Here are the details of what I want you to do:

I would like you to go into at least 5 stores, including Saks Fifth Avenue. I would like you to visit a combination of Mexican stores and international brands.  They don’t all have to be clothing stores.

I want you to be aware of the music they were playing, the lighting, the way the clothes were displayed, and the service you received – how did the shop attendant treat you?

I also want you be aware of the way you move through the store.

Also, critique the space, what was good and what was bad – what could be improved.

Lastly, I want you to think about the things that we’ve been talking about in class – paying special attention to what Mary Queen of Shops says and also Monocle.

Please write a response to this experience, telling me about your reactions and thoughts and bring it for next class.

